Semper Opera House 600 x 400

Dresden has a fine heritage of baroque and rococo architecture, a legacy of its long history as the capital of Saxony. The Electors and Kings of Saxony furnished the city with many exceptional buildings including their royal residences. Re-building and restoration of Dresden took place after the Allied bombing in WWII and among the many buildings destroyed and then re-built is the magnificent State Opera House of Dresden known as the Semperoper.

The Semperoper has a long and distinguished musical tradition. It was the venue for the premieres of works by Richard Wagner, Richard Strauss and Kurt Weill. Three Wagner operas received their first performance there, Rienzi, the Flying Dutchman and Tannhäuser.

The Packages

Operas Abroad is pleased to offer packages to Dresden (3 hotel nights, breakfast and a best category ticket for the opera of your choice).

Hotel Maritim**** £450 per person
Extra night £65 per person
Single room supplement £35 per night

Hotel Bülow Palais***** £475 per person (During the low season Jan 8th-31st, February-March and September to December)
Extra night £70 per person
Single room supplement £50 per night

Hotel Bülow Palais***** £495 per person (During the high season April to October and January 1st- 7th)
Extra night £80 per person
Single room supplement £55

Optional Extras
An extra opera ticket £95
Airport transfer both ways £75 (for two)
Private guided city tour lasting two hours £95 (per guide)

Packages are subject to price variation at the time of booking.

The package does not include flights but we will be pleased to arrange them. There are flights with Lufthansa or BMI from Gatwick, Heathrow, Birmingham, Manchester, Edinburgh and Dublin changing at Frankfurt or Munich.

Hotel Maritim****

This elegant four star hotel is located on the banks of River Elbe. It has spacious rooms and a fine restaurant with a winter garden and a terrace overlooking the river. The amenities include a hotel shop, room service, Wifi, bicycle rental and an exclusive wellness area with a pool, steam room, sanarium and Finnish sauna.

The walking distance from the hotel to the Semperoper is approximately 380 yards.

Hotel Bülow Palais*****

This luxurious five star hotel is situated in the Baroque Quarter in an 18th century building. The Gourmet Restaurant Carroussel is one of Germany’s finest restaurants. There is also the Bülow Bistro which offers informal dining and views of the Konigstrasse and there is dining in the Inner Courtyard under a glass ceiling with the nearby Palais Bar and a cigar lounge. On the top floor there is a Fitness and Spa centre which is flooded with natural light. It offers an impressive range of facilities and treatments. The distance from the hotel to the Semperoper is a little over half a mile.

Hotel Maritim Dresden Front 600 x 400

Dresden-Hotel-Maritim-Pool 600 x 400

Hotel Bülow Palais Dresden 600 x 400

Hotel Bülow Palais Room 600 x 400

DRESDEN OPERA PROGRAMME

Wed 16 May 2018 LA FORZA DEL DESTINO-Verdi
Thu 17 May 2018 FIDELIO-Beethoven
Sat 19 May 2018 LA FORZA DEL DESTINO-Verdi
Mon 21 May 2018 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Thu 24 May 2018 THE MAGIC FLUTE-Mozart
Fri 25 May 2018 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Sat 26 May 2018 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Sun 27 May 2018 THE MAGIC FLUTE-Mozart
Sun 27 May 2018 THE MAGIC FLUTE-Mozart
Wed 30 May 2018 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Sun 3 Jun 2018 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Mon 4 Jun 2018 LA BOHÈME-Puccini
Tue 5 Jun 2018 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Thu 7 Jun 2018 LA BOHÈME-Puccini
Fri 8 Jun 2018 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Sat 9 Jun 2018 ALLES SCHWINDEL-Spoliansky
Sun 10 Jun 2018 ALLES SCHWINDEL-Spoliansky
Tue 12 Jun 2018 ALLES SCHWINDEL-Spoliansky
Fri 15 Jun 2018 ALLES SCHWINDEL-Spoliansky
Sat 16 Jun 2018 LA BOHÈME-Puccini
Sun 17 Jun 2018 ALLES SCHWINDEL-Spoliansky
Sun 17 Jun 2018 DON GIOVANNI-Mozart
Tue 19 Jun 2018 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Wed 20 Jun 2018 ALLES SCHWINDEL-Spoliansky
Wed 20 Jun 2018 DON GIOVANNI-Mozart
Fri 22 Jun 2018 CARMEN-Bizet
Sat 23 Jun 2018 DON GIOVANNI-Mozart
Sun 24 Jun 2018 CARMEN-Bizet
Wed 27 Jun 2018 CARMEN-Bizet
Fri 29 Jun 2018 DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER-Wagner
Sat 30 Jun 2018 OEDIPUS REX-Stravinsky
Sat 30 Jun 2018 IL PRIGIONIERO-Dallapiccolo
Mon 2 Jul 2018 DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER-Wagner
Tue 3 Jul 2018 OEDIPUS REX-Stravinsky
Tue 3 Jul 2018 IL PRIGIONIERO-Dallapiccolo
Fri 6 Jul 2018 OEDIPUS REX-Stravinsky
Fri 6 Jul 2018 IL PRIGIONIERO-Dallapiccolo
Sat 7 Jul 2018 CARMEN-Bizet
Sun 8 Jul 2018 OEDIPUS REX-Stravinsky
Sun 8 Jul 2018 IL PRIGIONIERO-Dallapiccolo
Wed 11 Jul 2018 OEDIPUS REX-Stravinsky
Wed 11 Jul 2018 IL PRIGIONIERO-Dallapiccolo

 

A BEAUTIFUL CITY TO VISIT

Dresden Site 1 448 x 336

Dresden Site 4 448 x 366

Dresden Site 2 448 x 336

Dresden Site 5 448 x 336

Dresden Site 3 448 x 336

Dresden Site 6 448 x 336