Tallinn Opera House

Tallin Opera House Inside 403 x 269

Tallinn Opera 2016-2017

Tallinn is probably the most modern of the three Baltic capitals but at its centre is the medieval city with a maze of cobbled streets, its city walls, merchant’s houses, guild halls, fine restaurants and soaring church spires. There is much to see in Tallinn but while in Tallinn, there is the possibility of visiting Helsinki by ferry. Both cities are ports and there are several crossings daily; both ferry terminals are close to the city centres, the fares are inexpensive and the crossing time is only an hour and a half. We can also arrange onward travel to other parts of Estonia such as the peaceful island of Saaremaa or to Estonian’s other cities like Tartu or Parnu.

Estonia’s operatic traditions are 250 years old and the Estonian National Opera was founded in 1906. The core of its present repertoire consists of classical and contemporary operas, ballets, operettas and musicals. While the opera houses of many formerly communist cities have increased their ticket prices very substantially, the Estonian National Opera & Ballet still offers great value.

Opera performances during the 2016-2017 season include many standards of the operatic repertoire with many lighter works such as  the operettas of Kálmán. .

Operas Abroad is pleased to offer the following packages including:

  • Private transfers. Airport/Hotel/Airport;
  • Three hotel nights with breakfast;
  • A half-day private walking tour of Tallinn with an English speaking guide;
  • A best category ticket to the opera or ballet of your choice

Package Price

For all the items on the left at the Savoy Boutique Hotel***** £560 per person (single room supplement for all three nights £70)

For all the items on the left at the Hotel Barons**** £545 per person (single room supplement for all three nights £50)

For all the items on the left Hotel Barbara*** £465 per person (single room supplement for all three nights £45)

We will be pleased to arrange extra or fewer nights, extra tickets, more sight-seeing or less sight-seeing, etc.

Prices are subject to availability and variation at the time of booking.

As well as our three featured hotels two others which have been enjoyed by our clients are the Three Sisters Hotel***** and the Hotel Old Town Maestro’s***. In the middle ages a wealthy merchant of Tallinn bought three adjacent houses, one for each of his daughters. These building have now been sensitively restored and combined into one extraordinary hotel. It was the one chosen for the Queen to stay in during her state visit to Estonia. The Old Town Maestro’s is also located in a medieval building. It offers a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and a great location within easy walking distance of the opera house and the Old Town Square of Tallinn.

We will be pleased to book flights if required.

SAVOY BOUTIQUE HOTEL*****

SAVOY BOUTIQUE HOTEL 350 x 230

This hotel has an excellent central location on the edge of the medieval Old Town and within easy walking distance of the Opera House. Each of its forty-three art-deco styled rooms are spacious and comfortable. All the quest rooms have free WiFi, a laptop safe, a minibar, air-conditioning and flat-screen cable TV, hairdryer, bathrobe and slippers. Its MEKK restaurant offers modern Estonian dishes and international cuisine.

Other services and facilities include: Terrace, Sun Terrace, massage, bicycle rental, in-room breakfast, room service, car hire, airport shuttle, 24-hour front desk, currency exchange, luggage storage, laundry, dry cleaning, ironing service, shoeshine, gift shop, bridal suite, newspapers, safety deposit box, non-smoking rooms, lift and an allergy-free room.

HOTEL BARONS****

HOTEL BARONS 350 x 230

Located right in the heart of Tallinn this small and atmospheric hotel is just a couple of steps from the Town Hall Square. Carefully restored in the early 20th century style, the hotel has retained the contemporary interior and atmosphere. Previously, the building served as a bank – it still has the vaults that are today used for keeping the guests’ valuables. The hotel features an a la carte restaurant, a lobby bar and a sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room. There are 32 rooms, all well appointed and fully equipped with modern amenities, including mini bar, air conditioning and floor heating in the bathrooms. Rooms for non-smokers and sufferers from allergies are provided. The Margarita Restaurant is on the second floor. It is newly renovated and seats up to sixty people. European cuisine is served from noon until 11pm. Free Wifi or LAN internet connection is provided. The hotel is about 300 metres from the Opera House.

ST BARBARA HOTEL***

ST BARBARA HOTEL 350 x 230

The hotel has a good location which is within walking distance of the historic ‘Old Town’ and the Estonian National Opera. Its historic lime-stone walls conceal fifty-three well-lit, spacious guest rooms with high ceilings and large windows. The guest rooms all have cable TV, a minibar and bathrooms with hairdryers and heated floors. The hotel has a fine restaurant offering Germen cuisine. Other facilities and services include: sun terrace, massage, bicycle rental, Restaurant, bar, Free WiFi in all areas, packed lunches, vending machine, 24 hour front desk, luggage storage, laundry, ironing service, shoeshine and gift shop.

Tallinn Opera Programme

Fri 11 Nov 2016 DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER-Wagner
Sat 12 Nov 2016 ANNA BOLENA-Donizetti
Thu 17 Nov 2016 FAUST-Gounod
Fri 18 Nov 2016 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Sun 20 Nov 2016 AIDA-Verdi
Wed 23 Nov 2016 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Thu 1 Dec 2016 AIDA-Verdi
Sat 3 Dec 2016 CARMEN-Bizet
Wed 7 Dec 2016 SILVA-Kálmán
Fri 9 Dec 2016 RINALDO-Handel
Sun 11 Dec 2016 CARMEN-Bizet
Fri 16 Dec 2016 FAUST-Gounod
Sat 17 Dec 2016 SILVA-Kálmán
Sun 18 Dec 2016 RIGOLETTO-Verdi
Wed 21 Dec 2016 DIE ZIRKUSPRINZESSIN- Kálmán
Thu 22 Dec 2016 RINALDO-Handel
Thu 29 Dec 2016 DIE ZIRKUSPRINZESSIN- Kálmán
Wed 4 Jan 2017 SILVA-Kálmán
Fri 6 Jan 2017 CARMEN-Bizet
Wed 11 Jan 2017 BALL IM SAVOY-Abraham
Fri 13 Jan 2017 L’ELISIRE D’AMORE-Donizetti
Sun 15 Jan 2017 RINALDO-Handel
Wed 18 Jan 2017 CARMEN-Bizet
Sat 21 Jan 2017 SILVA-Kálmán
Thu 26 Jan 2017 BALL IM SAVOY-Abraham
Sat 28 Jan 2017 L’ELISIRE D’AMORE-Donizetti
Fri 3 Feb 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Sun 5 Feb 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Tue 7 Feb 2017 LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR-Donizetti
Thu 9 Feb 2017 BALL IM SAVOY-Abraham
Fri 10 Feb 2017 AIDA-Verdi
Thu 16 Feb 2017 SILVA-Kálmán
Fri 17 Feb 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Sun 19 Feb 2017 L’ELISIRE D’AMORE-Donizetti
Sat 25 Feb 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Wed 1 Mar 2017 BALL IM SAVOY-Abraham
Thu 2 Mar 2017 AIDA-Verdi
Sat 4 Mar 2017 SILVA-Kálmán
Thu 9 Mar 2017 TANNHÄUSER-Wagner
Sat 11 Mar 2017 TANNHÄUSER-Wagner
Thu 16 Mar 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Sat 18 Mar 2017 CARMEN-Bizet
Wed 22 Mar 2017 CARDILLAC-Hindemith
Fri 24 Mar 2017 CARDILLAC-Hindemith
Sun 26 Mar 2017 BALL IM SAVOY-Abraham
Thu 30 Mar 2017 AIDA-Verdi
Sat 1 Apr 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Thu 6 Apr 2017 CARMEN-Bizet
Sat 8 Apr 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Wed 19 Apr 2017 DIE ZIRKUSPRINZESSIN- Kálmán
Thu 20 Apr 2017 DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER-Wagner
Sat 22 Apr 2017 TOSCA-Puccini
Tue 25 Apr 2017 CYRANO DE BERGERAC-Alfano
Wed 26 Apr 2017 CYRANO DE BERGERAC-Alfano
Fri 28 Apr 2017 DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER-Wagner
Sun 30 Apr 2017 LE NOZZE DI FIGARO-Mozart
Thu 4 May 2017 DIE ZIRKUSPRINZESSIN- Kálmán
Sat 6 May 2017 TOSCA-Puccini
Fri 12 May 2017 RINALDO-Handel
Sun 14 May 2017 DIE ZIRKUSPRINZESSIN- Kálmán
Fri 19 May 2017 DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER-Wagner
Fri 2 Jun 2017 L’ELISIRE D’AMORE-Donizetti
Wed 7 Jun 2017 LA TRAVIATA-Verdi
Sat 10 Jun 2017 RINALDO-Handel
Sat 17 Jun 2017 L’ELISIRE D’AMORE-Donizetti
Tue 20 Jun 2017

LA TRAVIATA-Verdi

tallinn-old-town